News Stories

AE Prof. Ioannis Chasiotis has been named a University of Illinois Faculty Scholar, an honor recognizing faculty excellence.
AIAA Space Design Competition
Continuing a tradition of success, AE teams sweep first, second, and third in the AIAA space design competition.
Shee-Mang Yen
Former students pay tribute to the late Emeritus Prof. Shee-Mang Yen.
Autonomous Materials Systems technique
The Autonomous Materials Systems Group has discovered a new method to find microscopic damage before composite materials fail.
Hyperloop team
AE students join Hyperloop Pod competition.
Matthew Schonert at 2016 Spring Convocation
Recent MS grad Matthew Schonert enjoyed the flexibility of earning an online degree.
Grace Gao and her team
Grace Gao and her students are developing ways to fly UAVS in urban areas.
Erik Johnson
Erik Johnson has received the 2016 AE Distinguished Alumni Award.
The IRIS team produced the best systems engineering paper, but the IRIS-6 encountered mechanical problems during the robotic mining...
WIA team with rocket
In the group's first tech project attempt, the Women in Aerospace took second in the Midwest high-power rocketry competition.
Daniel Bodony
Daniel Bodony is among a group of scientists in a DOD project to predict and control liquid sprays.
Larry Bergman
Larry Bergman's 37 years at Illinois have been focused on his graduate students and collaborations around the world.
AE 2016 Graduates
The number of AE students earning bachelor's degrees in AY2015-16 has been the largest in over a dozen years.
News story image
By launching a rocket 36,000 feet, the Student Space Systems group is gaining on an ultimate goal of a "space shot."
Prof. Craig Dutton
Campus has recognized Craig Dutton's stellar efforts in mentoring junior faculty.
Assistant Prof. Grace Gao
Assistant Prof. Grace Gao's optimism and approachability leads students to choose her for the Teacher of the Year Award.
Yuting Ng and Assistant Prof. Grace Gao
Graduate student Yuting Ng's development of GPS technique to offset disruptions wins Best Paper Award.
2016 student awards
Outstanding AE students were recognized in the spring Awards Banquet.
In a multidisciplinary, multi-institutional effort, AE will guide the development of three NASA-funded CubeSat missions.
News story image
The scientific method works in almost all situations says 2016 AE Distinguished Alumni Award winner Laura Bogusch.


Subscribe to our Print and/or E-Newsletter

Aerospace Engineering provides news and updates about the Department once a year through our printed AE Newsletter, and about 6 times per year through our e-newsletter.

To subscribe to the printed newsletter, send us your mailing address by submitting your information online, or contact s-mummatillinois [dot] edu (Susan Mumm).

You can include your name on the e-newsletter subscription list by filling in the information here:


You are always able to unsubscribe. We like feedback and look forward to hearing from you.