News Stories

AE Professor adds to an impressive list of honors achieved in his young career.
Team Rough Riders competed against other teams at the regional Collegiate Rocket Competition.
AE Emeritus Prof. Allen Ives Ormsbee passed away July 13, 2012, from complications of pneumonia.
Khodadoust, Fisher, Distinguished AE Alumni; Horie, Schweighart, Outstanding Recent Alumni
Professor appointed as Head of Aerospace Engineering Department.
Several students are recognized for their outstanding work in the AE program.
Aerospace Engineering at Illinois Prof. Victoria Coverstone elected Chair of the Council of Institutions for the University Space Research...
Interim Dean of the College of Engineering appointed to NASA committee.
AE alumnus recognized for excellence in leadership and innovation in the engineering field.
Professor appointed as new Interim Dean for the College of Engineering.
AE professor to serve as Associate Editor for Journal of Applied Mechanics.
Illinois alumnus Timothy A. Cochrane has joined AE at Illinois as the new Associate Director for Advancement.
AE's Sottos, White, students' work in developing self-healing materials that mimic biological processes featured on the American...
AE professor, group works to determine how sophisticated, unmanned surveillance vehicles can provide anti-terrorism and force protection...
Assistant professor and an ECE alumna win Best Manipulation Paper Award at IEEE International conference on Robotics and Automation.
Three AE student teams designed and built rockets then tested them against the best from other colleges and universities in five Midwestern...
The Illinois Robotics in Space (IRIS) team placed third of 57 teams competing in the NASA Lunabotics Mining Competition Systems Engineering...
"To design a brand new vehicle is every aerospace engineer's dream," says AE alumnus Sam Schweighart. So he and his...
The first five students of AE's new Aerospace Systems Engineering master's degree program have now graduated.
AE at Illinois wishes hearty congratulations to Undergraduate Student Coordinator Barb Kirts on her retirement from the University of...


Subscribe to our Print and/or E-Newsletter

Aerospace Engineering provides news and updates about the Department once a year through our printed AE Newsletter, and about 6 times per year through our e-newsletter.

To subscribe to the printed newsletter, send us your mailing address by submitting your information online, or contact s-mummatillinois [dot] edu (Susan Mumm).

You can include your name on the e-newsletter subscription list by filling in the information here:


You are always able to unsubscribe. We like feedback and look forward to hearing from you.