News Archive

CubeSat graphic


Thu, 03/17/2016 - 19:00   Students in the CubeSat course become part of a real space mission.
Sacramento Kings arena construction

Illinois drone monitoring system used in Sacramento Kings arena construction

Wed, 03/16/2016 - 19:00   Associate Prof. Tim Bretl is helping to develop the award-winning drone monitoring system used with construction of the Sacramento Kings arena.
Caite McCarthy

AE Senior Caite McCarthy selected as Knight of St. Pat, Wakeland Award winner

Tue, 03/08/2016 - 18:00   Caite McCarthy's leadership skills are being lauded with a couple of College of Engineering honors.
AE 483 video project

Industry reps drawn to students’ work with quadrotors

Mon, 03/07/2016 - 18:00   Prof. Grace Gao motivates AE 483 students by inviting industry reps to view final project videos.
Scott White

White Chosen for Drucker Eminent Faculty Award

Thu, 03/03/2016 - 18:00   Prof. Scott White is honored with Engineering at Illinois' most prestigious faculty award.
Marco Panesi research graphic

Panesi wins Dean’s Award for Excellence in Research

Wed, 03/02/2016 - 18:00   Assistant Prof. Marco Panesi's work in high-temperature computational aerothermodynamics gains the College of Engineering's recognition.
Michael Selig

Selig plays role in designing enormous blades for offshore energy

Sun, 02/28/2016 - 18:00   Prof. Michael Selig contributes to research on gigantic morphing wind energy blades.
Daniel J. Bodony

Bodony wins Dean’s Award for Excellence in Research

Wed, 02/24/2016 - 18:00   Engineering at Illinois recognizes Dan Bodony for his research, including exascale computing to simulate compressible turbulent flows.
WiA logo

Women in Aerospace sponsors Girls Learning Air and Space Science Event

Sun, 02/21/2016 - 18:00   Women in Aerospace event promises rocket and glider fun for girls sixth through 10th grades!
AIAA Region III Student Conference thumbprint

AIAA at Illinois to Host Regional Student Conference

Tue, 01/26/2016 - 18:00   About 100 students from 25 universities are expected on the Illinois campus in April for the 2016 AIAA Regional Student Conference.
U.S. Senator Dick Durbin

Senator Durbin Tours new Center for Self-healing Materials

Tue, 01/19/2016 - 18:00   Visiting in January, U.S. Senator Dick Durbin tours the Center of Excellence in Self-healing, Regeneration, and Structural Remodeling
Forbes 30 Under 30 logo

AE faculty member Ansell included among Forbes 30 Under 30

Thu, 01/14/2016 - 18:00   Phil Anserll says his Forbes "30 Under 30" designation motivates him to pursue continued excellence.
Scott R. White

Color-changing indicators highlight microscopic damage

Wed, 01/13/2016 - 18:00   Scott White's group has developed new material that autonomously indicates mechanical damage.
John Lambros

AE launches new certificate programs

Tue, 01/05/2016 - 18:00   AE's new certificate programs makes it easier for students to gain extra aerospace engineering expertise.
News story image

Lambros elected as American Academy of Mechanics Fellow

Mon, 01/04/2016 - 18:00   Professor John Lambros has been elected as a Fellow of the American Academy of Mechanics.
Diagram of BIG Idea challenge transport vehicle

NASA picks AE team’s design for next step in BIG Idea Challenge

Sun, 01/03/2016 - 18:00   An AE student team designs a transport vehicle for carrying large payloads to Mars.
Koki Ho

Ho wins Napolitano Award for network optimization of space mission plan

Sun, 11/22/2015 - 18:00   New assistant professor gains international recognition for spaceflight logistics plan.
Soon-Jo Chung

Swarm satellite research results in AIAA Best Paper Award

Sun, 11/15/2015 - 18:00   Associate Prof. Soon-Jo Chung and his PhD student Dan Morgan have won an AIAA Best Paper Award.
Scott R. White

AFOSR Awards $4.3 Million for New Center Focusing on Self-Healing Materials

Sun, 11/08/2015 - 18:00   Prof. Scott White directs the new Center of Excellence in Self-healing, Regeneration, and Structural Remodeling.
Cedric Langbort

AE's Langbort uses game theory to protect the grid from hackers

Tue, 11/03/2015 - 18:00   Cedric Langbort's game theory algorithms keep a move ahead of hackers attacking the grid.