News Archive

William D. Bertelsen with arc wing model

Where are they now? William D. Bertelsen, B.S. '82

Wed, 06/12/2019 - 09:48   Self-proclaimed "late bloomer" continues to pursue his passion to invent.
Katie Carroll poolside with NASA diver

Student project gets real-world testing

Mon, 06/10/2019 - 09:14   MIDAS, was tested in the NASA Neutral Buoyancy Lab pool at the Johnson Space Center.
DARPA robotic hummingbird

Company culture important career criterion for Klingebiel

Thu, 06/06/2019 - 15:27   Karl R. Klingebiel, BS ’04, is a 2019 Outstanding Recent Alumnus from the AE department.
designer pad

Call for sculpture designs to celebrate aerospace engineering

Mon, 06/03/2019 - 10:10   Deadline to submit a sculpture design is June 30.
flight test of human-powered aircraft

Choosing to soar: Mark D. Maughmer honored with Distinguished Alumnus Award

Fri, 05/31/2019 - 09:00   “Everything good that has happened in my career has been a consequence of that decision and my involvement with soaring.”
Artist’s rendering of an advanced commercial transport aircraft concept utilizing CHEETA systems.

NASA funds aviation research on a new fuel concept

Thu, 05/30/2019 - 15:10   The program focuses on the development of a fully electric aircraft platform that uses cryogenic liquid hydrogen as an energy storage method.
Courtney Leverenz, left, with her sister Christine.

AE student seeks to share STEM with autistic youth

Wed, 05/08/2019 - 16:30   Courtney Leverenz is a self-proclaimed aerospace engineering outreach advocate.
Jason B. Ditman

Jason B. Ditman named Distinguished Alumnus

Tue, 05/07/2019 - 15:00   Ditman got a BS from U of I in 1991 and an MS in 1992.
Susan Althoff Gorton

Susan Althoff Gorton, ’84 receives AE Distinguished Alumna Award

Mon, 05/06/2019 - 08:15   Gorton is the project manager for NASA’s Revolutionary Vertical Lift Technology Project.
Adi M. Boulos

NASA flight director receives AE alumnus award

Thu, 05/02/2019 - 11:45   Adi M. Boulos, BS ’08 recently received an Outstanding Recent Alumnus Award.
Altgelt Hall

Five AE doctoral students selected for unique future faculty training program

Tue, 04/30/2019 - 08:15   MF3 Academy designed to prepare the next generation of engineering professors.
Shirely Dyke

AE alumna chosen to lead NASA smart habitat

Mon, 04/29/2019 - 09:30   Shirley Dyke, '91, will lead the Resilient ExtraTerrestrial Habitats institute.
Phillip J. Ansell

Ansell receives college award for excellence in research

Fri, 04/26/2019 - 15:00   Assistant Professor Phillip J. Ansell has been selected to receive the College of Engineering Dean’s Award for Excellence in Research.
partial image showing data from three gas compositions

Controlling instabilities allows closer look at chemistry around vehicles traveling at hypersonic speeds

Tue, 04/23/2019 - 10:00   Researchers used a less-is-more method to understand chemical reactions in unsteady flows.
some of the graduate students and faculty

2019 AE awards banquet recognizes excellence

Thu, 04/18/2019 - 11:00   At the annual awards banquet, the Department of Aerospace Engineering recognized faculty, staff, and students.
SASSI2 with team in Talbot clean room

Student CubeSat SASSI2 launches today, gathers data for hard science

Wed, 04/17/2019 - 09:00   SASSI2, CubeSat designed, built, and tested by undergrads launches today.
study abroad participants holding up an airplane wing

Brazil bound

Fri, 04/12/2019 - 15:00   In mid-May, 13 undergraduate students in the AE Dept. will travel to Brazil for a 12-day, short-term study abroad experience.
Elliott in the lab with students

Greg Elliott to receive campus teaching award

Thu, 04/11/2019 - 10:45   Elliott joined the faculty in 2003 and is currently serving as the interim department head.
Elias Waddington

Where are they now? -- Elias Waddington, '17

Mon, 04/08/2019 - 08:45   Operating a drone, this AE alum helped a SWAT team defuse an armed standoff.
Standing at the foot of Fermilab’s bubble chamber from left to right: Dave Stier (holding his two children), Nick Kopriva, Rachel Di Bartolomeo, Jenna Commisso, Murphy Stratton, Steve Harris, Calvin Field, Rick Eason, Stephanie Timpone, Logan Power, Michael Lembeck, Michael Harrigan, Dillon Hammond, and Avinash Rao.

CubeSat presentation at Fermilab

Mon, 04/01/2019 - 12:00   LASSI team presented preliminary design concepts at Fermilab.