Steven J. D'Urso

Steven Joseph D’Urso,1952 – 2018: In Memoriam

Mon, 02/19/2018 - 14:00   Aerospace systems engineering lecturer and program coordinator Steven J. D’Urso passed away on Friday, Feb.16 at home. He was 64.
Desk image

Aero faculty to receive teaching awards

Fri, 02/16/2018 - 12:00   Professor Daniel J. Bodony and Professor Timothy Bretl are among this year’s recipients of awards that honor outstanding faculty in the College of Engineering.
Tim Bretl

Bretl named Fellow in AE3

Wed, 01/31/2018 - 10:00   Associate Prof. Tim Bretl is a new Education Innovation Fellow of the Academy for Excellence in Engineering Education.
John Prussing, Optimal Spacecraft Trajectories

Prussing publishes new text, Optimal Spacecraft Trajectories

Fri, 12/15/2017 - 13:30   Emeritus Prof. John Prussing has published a new book, Optimal Spacecraft Trajectories.

AE grad student recognized for developing method to locate attackers of the power grid

Mon, 11/20/2017 - 15:15   AE graduate student Sriramya Bhamidipati has been recognized for developing a method to locate attackers of the power grid.
Phil Ansell research graphic

Ansell gains Young Investigator Award to study transition to turbulence

Thu, 11/16/2017 - 14:15   Phil Ansell has gained a Young Investigator Award from the Army Research Office to study the transition of flows to turbulence.
Prof. Michael Selig, right, works with his graduate students.

AE research funding grows by nearly 30 percent

Thu, 11/09/2017 - 13:00   Funding for AE research programs has grown by almost 30 percent in the past year.
Philippe Geubelle believes that the multidisciplinary research focus at Beckman is especially valuable

Theory Meets Practice: Philippe Geubelle

Thu, 11/02/2017 - 17:45   Philippe Geubelle believes that the multidisciplinary research focus at Beckman is especially valuable because of the engagement it affords faculty and students.
Talbot building

AE graduate student enrollment at all-time high

Thu, 10/12/2017 - 10:45   Historic number of grad students enroll in AE, while a new remodeled space provides them offices.
AE students fall 2017 Freshman Fest

Undergraduate enrollment grows, while AE at Illinois moves up in rankings

Thu, 10/12/2017 - 10:30   AE undergraduate enrollment has reached 518 students, while the Department moves up a notch in rankings.
ISD logo

Illinois Space Day: Reaching the Stars and the Community

Mon, 09/25/2017 - 11:00   The Illinois Space Society student organization will host Illinois Space Day for K-12 students on Saturday, October 7.
Plasma actuator

Propulsion, plasma physics experimentalist joins AE as associate professor

Wed, 08/23/2017 - 11:15   New Associate Prof. Joshua Rovey comes to AE at Illinois with expertise in space propulsion and plasma physics.
Hopkins NASA photo

Astronaut Michael Hopkins awarded AE 2017 Distinguished Alumnus Award

Fri, 08/18/2017 - 10:00   Astronaut Michael Hopkins has been awarded the 2017 AE Distinguished Alumnus Award.
John Yu

Aerospace Engineering at Illinois Alumni Profile: John Yu

Wed, 07/26/2017 - 11:15   John Yu has received the AE 2017 Outstanding Recent Alumnus Award.
John Soldner

Aerospace Engineering at Illinois Alumni Profile: John Soldner

Fri, 07/14/2017 - 11:30   John K. Soldner has recieved the AE 2017 Distinguished Alumnus Award.
Scott White coating research graphic

Skin-like healing demonstrated in new coating system technology

Wed, 07/12/2017 - 11:45   Scott White's group has pioneered research of a surface system that repeatedly regenerates, mimicking the way skin heals when damaged.
Phillip Ansell

Ansell joins $9.9 million NASA project to improve airfoil design

Thu, 06/29/2017 - 11:45   Phil Ansell joins $9.9 million NASA project to improve airfoil design
Prosthetic hand in Tim Bretl's lab

Bretl’s group develops impact resistant fingers for prosthetic hand

Fri, 06/23/2017 - 11:45   The prosthetic hand Tim Bretl and his research group have developed takes a licking and keeps on ticking!
Kai James

Kai James named AIAA 2017 Teacher of the Year

Fri, 06/16/2017 - 12:00   Assistant Prof. Kai James has been named the 2017 AIAA Teacher of the Year.
Tim Cochrane

Cochrane named 2017 Staff Person of the Year

Thu, 06/15/2017 - 14:15   Tim Cochrane, AE Associate Director of Advancement, has been named AE Staff Person of the Year for 2017.