News

Graham V. Candler

Stability analysis of BOLT hypersonic flight experiment topic of H.S. Stillwell Memorial Lecture

Tue, 09/24/2019 - 15:03   The lecture will be held on Monday, Oct. 21, at 4:00 p.m. in the NCSA auditorium.
Associate Professor Joshua Rovey, left, talks about electric propulsion system testing with AE graduate students Nick Rasmont and Matt Klosterman

New salt-based propellant proven compatible in dual-mode rocket engines

Mon, 09/09/2019 - 08:52   Researchers demonstrated a salt-based propellant's compatibility with electrospray thrusters.
portion of the timeline

75 years in air and space

Thu, 09/05/2019 - 10:57   A timeline of AE highlights in a historical context.
GAANN fellowship graphic

GAANN Fellowships awarded to 10 AE graduate students

Wed, 09/04/2019 - 09:27   U.S. Department of Education’s Graduate Assistance in Areas of National Need
soid propellants

Study tests performance of electric solid propellant

Tue, 09/03/2019 - 09:11   Electric solid propellants are being explored for use in dual-mode rocket engines.
Talbot Lab exterior

Fellowships awarded to three AE Ph.D. students

Tue, 09/03/2019 - 08:34   Matt Paliwoda, Chris Lyne, and David Fellows recently received fellowships.
Drone show cube design

Public invited to view a 100-drone aerial light show

Wed, 08/28/2019 - 13:21   View drone show Friday, Sept. 20, at approximately 9 p.m.
Danny Park

Where are they now? Daniel “Danny” Park BS ‘13

Mon, 08/26/2019 - 08:47   "It’s a great time to be in aerospace."
graphic

Study models new method to accelerate nanoparticles

Thu, 08/22/2019 - 11:51   Alternative propulsion for spacecraft that require small levels of thrust.
Hanspeter Schaub

New mission analysis tool topic of H.S. Stillwell Memorial Lecture, Sept. 23

Mon, 08/19/2019 - 16:07   Professor Hanspeter Schaub from the Smead Aerospace Engineering Sciences Department at the University of Colorado is the speaker.
IAI students

Not your average summer camp

Thu, 07/25/2019 - 08:40   Illinois Aerospace Institute has been educating high school students for almost three decades.
GAMES campers in a corporate jet

GAMES camp cultivates interest in AE

Tue, 07/16/2019 - 08:24   A women-focused camp designed for high school students who have an interest in space and aviation.
diagram of multilevel concept

Maintaining large-scale satellite constellations using logistics approach

Thu, 07/11/2019 - 09:05   Researchers use a multi-echelon inventory control method in ground logistics and apply it to the orbital mechanic's context.
John Lambros

Making a case for additively manufactured titanium alloy parts

Wed, 07/10/2019 - 10:03   Does Ti64 measure up when additively manufactured?
Xinke Deng

New filter enhances robot vision on 6D pose estimation

Tue, 07/09/2019 - 09:19   Helping robots track an object as it moves from one location to another.
Photographs of the types of printed specimens used in this study and axis definition.

AE researchers validate optimum composites structure created with additive manufacturing

Thu, 06/27/2019 - 12:27   The study set out to answer which pattern of carbon fibers in the layers of extruded resin will result in the stiffest material.
Ashley Stahulak

Scholarship recipient: Ashley Stahulak

Wed, 06/26/2019 - 11:45   Funding for EVS scholarships come from the Grainger Foundation and will match gifts for student scholarships up to $25 million.
Samantha McCue

Just doing it: Samantha D. McCue, BS ’13 named AE Outstanding Recent Alumna

Mon, 06/17/2019 - 08:45   McCue has a full-time aerospace job and owns and manages two boutique fitness centers.
William D. Bertelsen with arc wing model

Where are they now? William D. Bertelsen, B.S. '82

Wed, 06/12/2019 - 09:48   Self-proclaimed "late bloomer" continues to pursue his passion to invent.
Katie Carroll poolside with NASA diver

Student project gets real-world testing

Mon, 06/10/2019 - 09:14   MIDAS, was tested in the NASA Neutral Buoyancy Lab pool at the Johnson Space Center.

Pages