AE Students are 'Engineers of the Week'

Sun, 11/20/2011 - 18:00   Students Wahab M. Alshahin, Erin B. Hallerberg and Gary R. Weber Jr. recognized as 'Engineers of the Week' by the Engineering Council Awards Committee.

Freund Elected as AIAA Associate Fellow

Mon, 11/07/2011 - 18:00   AE Prof. Jonathan B. Freund has been elected as an Associate Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).

AE Alums Participate in F-35B Sea Trials

Thu, 10/13/2011 - 19:00   Paul Martin, BS 06, and Jim Liao, BS 00, play part in the historic testing of the F-35B Joint Strike Fighter on the USS WASP (LHD-1).

Jackson continues as AIAA editor

Wed, 10/12/2011 - 19:00   AE Adjunct Prof. Thomas L. Jackson begins third term as Associate Editor for the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics Journal

Sladek Gift Creates AE Scholarships

Tue, 10/11/2011 - 19:00   Four undergraduates receive scholarships thanks to a generous gift from the estate of AE alumnus Richard R. Sladek.

Henne Wins AIAA Aerodynamics Award

Wed, 10/05/2011 - 19:00   Gulfstream executive Preston A. Henne, BS '69, is the 2011 winner of the Aerodynamics Award of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics.

Freund Elected as APS Fellow

Wed, 10/05/2011 - 19:00   AE Prof. Jonathan B. Freund has been elected as a Fellow of the American Physical Society.

AE Students Win Award at AIAA Conference

Wed, 10/05/2011 - 19:00   AE students have won a 2010 Best Student Paper Award for their work expanding the capabilities of the Electric Oxygen-Iodine Laser (ElectricOIL) device.

Austin Elected AIAA Associate Fellow

Sat, 10/01/2011 - 19:00   AE Associate Prof. Joanna M. Austin has been elected an Associate Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).

AE Team Garners First Place in Space Design Competition

Wed, 09/28/2011 - 19:00   Designing the best method for cleaning up trash in space has led to a first place win for AE students in the 2010-11 American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics Foundation undergraduate team space design competition.

Austin Earns Promotion

Mon, 09/12/2011 - 19:00   AE faculty member Joanna M. Austin has been promoted from assistant to associate professor.

Hall of Fame Inductee Liebeck to Deliver Dean's Distinguished Leadership Lecture

Tue, 09/06/2011 - 19:00   Named as a 2011 inductee of the College of Engineering at Illinois Hall of Fame, AE alumnus Robert H. Liebeck has been chosen to deliver the Fall 2011 Dean's Distinguished Leadership Lecture.

New AE Professor Focuses on Nanomechanics Studies

Tue, 09/06/2011 - 19:00   New AE Assistant Prof. Huck Beng Chew conducts computational-based nano and micromechanics studies of small-scale material structures.

Chasiotis Chosen for Frontiers of Engineering Symposium

Wed, 08/31/2011 - 19:00   AE Associate Prof. Ioannis Chasiotis is among 85 of the nation's brightest young engineers selected to take part in the National Academy of Engineering's (NAE) 17th Annual U.S. Frontiers of Engineering Symposium.

AE Senior Ready to be an Astronaut

Sun, 08/28/2011 - 19:00   AE undergraduate and pilot Samantha McCue tells her story about wanting to be an astronaut.

AE Researchers Earn SEM's Hetenyi Award

Wed, 08/17/2011 - 19:00   AE faculty members Ioannis Chasiotis and John Lambros, along with recent PhD graduate Krishna Jonnalagadda and current graduate student Sivakumar Yagnamurty, are the 2012 winners of the M. Hetenyi Award.

AE to Offer Systems Engineering Master's Degree

Wed, 07/27/2011 - 19:00   AE Alumni Board member Steven J. D'Urso has joined the Department to administer the new Aerospace Systems Engineering (SE) master's degree program that will begin this fall.

Vascular composites enable dynamic structural materials

Mon, 07/25/2011 - 19:00   Researchers have developed vascularized structural composites, creating materials that are lightweight and strong -- and with a lot of potential.

Dutton, Tankersley Honored as Teacher, Staff Member of the Year

Mon, 07/11/2011 - 19:00   J. Craig Dutton and Staci Tankersley have been recognized.

Spacecraft Swarm Research Earns AE Graduate Student NASA Fellowship

Thu, 07/07/2011 - 19:00   AE graduate student Daniel J. Morgan has been awarded a fellowship from NASA.