College Honors Archambault

Mon, 10/05/2009 - 19:00   The university, college, and Department of Aerospace Engineering welcomed Colonel Lee J. Archambault, BS 82, MS 84 AE, a distinguished United States Air Force pilot and NASA astronaut, back to campus during the Foundation weekend Oct. 2-4.

AE Student Awarded Armed Forces Scholarship

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 19:00   Jie Hua Lin of Bolingbrook, Illinois, has won an Armed Forces Communications and Electronics Association General John A. Wickham Scholarship.

New AE Professor Developing Bat-Like Aircraft Flight

Sat, 09/26/2009 - 19:00   Equipped with a vision to develop aircraft that mimic the autonomy and agility of bats, Soon-Jo Chung begins this fall semester as a new assistant professor in Aerospace Engineering.

AE Grad Student Wins NASA/GSRP Fellowship

Wed, 09/09/2009 - 19:00   AE graduate student Jacob A. Englander has been chosen for a National Aeronautics and Space Administration fellowship for his work on developing an autonomous design tool for interplanetary spacecraft missions.

AE Researchers’ Paper Chosen as Best from Continuum Mechanics Conference

Mon, 08/31/2009 - 19:00   A group of AE researchers has earned the Best Paper Award from a major continuum mechanics conference held in February in Cambridge, the United Kingdom.

Geubelle Named ASME Fellow

Wed, 08/19/2009 - 19:00   AE Professor Philippe Geubelle has been named a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME).

AE Students Earn 2009 Departmental Awards

Thu, 08/06/2009 - 19:00   AE has recognized several of the Department’s undergraduate and graduate students with awards for their scholastic achievement and other contributions.

AE Students Garner College of Engineering Awards

Wed, 08/05/2009 - 19:00   AE students Joseph Gonzalez and Michael J. Ciffone are the winners of the College of Engineering’s 2009 Andrea J. Culumber and Stanley H. Pierce awards, respectively.

Chasiotis Earns Presidential Early Career Award

Sun, 07/19/2009 - 19:00   AE Associate Prof. Ioannis Chasiotis is among 100 young researchers named as recipients of 2008 Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. government on young professionals at the outset of their independent research careers

Geubelle is Teacher of the Year; Kirts Receives Staff of the Year Award

Wed, 07/15/2009 - 19:00   AE Prof. Philippe Geubelle presents Barb Kirts, Coordinator of Undergraduate Programs, with the inaugural AE Staff of the Year Award.

AE Alum Chosen for 2009 Astronaut Class

Mon, 07/13/2009 - 19:00   A lieutenant colonel in the U.S. Air Force, AE alum Michael S. Hopkins has been selected as a member of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration’s 2009 astronaut candidate class.

AE Honors Outstanding Alumni

Tue, 06/23/2009 - 19:00   Stephen J. Hoffman, BS 78, MS 80, PhD 84, and Catherine Koerner, BS 87, MS 89, are the 2009 winners of the Aerospace Engineering Distinguished Alumni Awards. Pamela McVeigh, BS 93, and Daniel Thunnissen, MS 96, are the winners of the 2009 AE Outstanding Recent Alumni Awards.

Recent AE alum helps to develop new Lunar Lander Test Bed

Wed, 06/17/2009 - 19:00   AE alumnus Wayne W. Neumaier, BS 07, MS 08, has been instrumental in the testing of the Lunar Lander Test Bed (LLTB) that will be used to demonstrate and mature technologies required for future NASA robotic space exploration.

Illinois-led Project Garners $6.25 Million DoD Grant

Mon, 06/08/2009 - 19:00   Both the electronic components of your cell phone and the explosive portions of military weaponry could be better protected by the smarter materials that scientists including AE Profs. John Lambros and Philippe H. Geubelle plan to design.

Dowell Receives Prestigious Guggenheim Medal

Tue, 06/02/2009 - 19:00   AE Alumnus Earl H. Dowell, William Holland Hall Professor at Duke University in Durham, North Carolina, is the 2008 recipient of the Daniel Guggenheim Medal.

Photos Capture Latest Atlantis Mission

Tue, 06/02/2009 - 19:00   AE Alumnus Scott Altman, BS 81, commanded the May 2009 space shuttle Atlantis’ mission to service the Hubble Space Telescope.

Santa Claus Comes to Town in Nanocomposite Photo

Thu, 05/21/2009 - 19:00   Santa Claus made an early appearance in a photo AE Prof. Eric Loth’s research group produced recently. The photo won second place among 50 finalists in the Science as Art Competition at the Materials Research Society Spring Meeting in San Francisco.

AE alumnus in the Oval Office

Wed, 05/20/2009 - 19:00   Pictured: AE alumnus Lee Archambault and President Barack Obama. Click link above to see the full photo with other NASA crew members.

AE Student Shares in First Prize for 2009 Cozad New Venture Competition

Thu, 05/14/2009 - 19:00   SongAlive, a company formed in part by AE graduate student Adam Steele, has won First Prize for being the Most Fundable Venture in the 2009 V. Dale Cozad New Venture Competition.

Burton retires from teaching; continues research

Thu, 05/07/2009 - 19:00   Although he will no longer be teaching in the classroom, Rod Burton will continue with research. His smiling face will still be seen for the years to come in the hallways of Talbot Laboratory.