AE Teams Sweep Space Design Competition

Mon, 09/29/2008 - 19:00   Aerospace Engineering teams from the University of Illinois swept all awards in the recent 2007-2008 Undergraduate Team Space Design Competition, sponsored by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics Foundation.

AE Alums Play Role in Phoenix Lander Mission

Thu, 08/28/2008 - 19:00   Three AE alumni participated in the successful landing of the Mars Phoenix Lander mission that touched down on the Martian northern arctic region on May 25, 2008

Boeing recognizes AE graduate student in international competition

Fri, 08/22/2008 - 19:00   AE graduate student Manu Sharma was among three University of Illinois students recently honored in the Boeing 2008 Student of the Year Awards.

AE group works to improve athletes' results in paralympics

Mon, 08/18/2008 - 19:00   CHAMPAIGN, Ill. — A group of aerospace engineering students have been working to improve the racing speeds of athletes who recently competed in Beijing in the 2008 Paralympic Games. Those games took place in China's capital city Sept. 6-17.

Voulgaris Awarded NCSA Fellowship

Sun, 08/10/2008 - 19:00   Aerospace Engineering Professor Petros Voulgaris has been awarded a National Center for Supercomputing Applications (NCSA) Fellowship for his project, "Simulation-Based Performance and Robustness Analysis of Large Distributed Control Applications."

Chasiotis and Group Win Best Paper Award

Wed, 07/30/2008 - 19:00   Editors of Fatigue and Fracture of Engineering Materials and Structures have selected an article co-written by AE Assistant Prof. Ioannis Chasiotis for the journal's 2007 Best Paper Award.

Engineering Council Honors AE Faculty

Wed, 07/23/2008 - 19:00   Emeritus Prof. John E. Prussing has been honored with the 2008 Engineering Council/Accenture Multi-Year Faculty Achievement Award. Profs. Lawrence A. Bergman and Victoria L. Coverstone and Associate Prof. Jonathan B. Freund have been recognized with the 2008 Engineering Council Award for Excellence in Advising.

AE Students Garner College, University Awards

Tue, 07/15/2008 - 19:00   Michael J. Duffy, a 2008 bachelor’s degree graduate of Aerospace Engineering, was recognized this spring as a Bronze Tablet member. The names of this select group of undergraduate students are inscribed on bronze tablets that are displayed on the first floor of the University of Illinois Main Library.
News story image

Bodony is 2008 AIAA Teacher of the Year; AE Faculty Listed Among Teachers Ranked as Excellent

Sun, 07/06/2008 - 19:00   Joining the AE faculty just one and a half years ago, Daniel J. Bodony already has been chosen as the 2008 Teacher of the Year for the local American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) student chapter.

Coverstone, Walenczewski receive Pierce Awards

Thu, 06/26/2008 - 19:00   AE Prof. Victoria H. Coverstone and senior Sylvee Walenczewski have won the 2008 Stanley H. Pierce faculty and undergraduate awards, respectively, from the College of Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
News story image

Flying the Crowded Skies AE Grad Student Wins NASA Scholarship to Improve Air Transportation

Thu, 06/19/2008 - 19:00   Our current air transportation system has reached its capacity, says Heather Arneson, a graduate student working under Cedric Langbort, a professor of aerospace engineering and the Coordinated Sciences Laboratory.
News story image

Three Alumni Honored

Thu, 06/05/2008 - 19:00   Bruce K. Donaldson, PhD 68, has been named the 2008 AE Distinguished Alumnus; and Joyee (Qi) Zhu, PhD 01, and Justin B. Berman, BS 91, MS 93, PhD 01, are the 2008 AE Outstanding Recent Alumni.

Rolls-Royce announces new partnership with Illinois

Thu, 06/05/2008 - 19:00   Rolls-Royce, a world-leading provider of power systems and services for use on land, at sea and in the air, has announced broad plans to grow its partnership with the University of Illinois. This new relationship, which could evolve into Rolls-Royce establishing a university technology center here, holds many opportunities for students and faculty in units across campus, including Aerospace Engineering.

College Honors Hill with Distinguished Alumni Award

Wed, 05/21/2008 - 19:00   A leader in ground and in-flight icing research, AE Alumnus Eugene G. Hill, BS 57, has received the 2008 Alumni Award for Distinguished Service from the College of Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

AE Photo is "Image of the Week"

Sun, 05/11/2008 - 19:00   The Imaging Technology Group at the Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology has chosen as an "image of the week" a photograph AE Prof. Eric Loth's research group has produced.

AE's Naraghi Takes First for Second Year in Sandia Lab Contest

Wed, 04/23/2008 - 19:00   Ph.D. candidate Mohammad Naraghi, under the direction of Professor Ioannis Chasiotis, has taken a first place at Sandia National Laboratory's University Alliance competition for the second consecutive year!

Bragg is new AIAA vice president; Muellner assumes organization's presidency

Wed, 04/16/2008 - 19:00   Prof. Michael B. Bragg is the new Vice President-Elect, Publications, of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics.

Space Station carries AE experiment

Sun, 03/23/2008 - 19:00   An experiment of AE Prof. Ioannis Chasiotis and graduate student Qi Chen is underway in a set of "briefcases" recently attached to the International Space Station.

AE Teams Win Firsts at EOH!

Mon, 03/17/2008 - 19:00   Congratulations to the American Institute of Aeronautics & Astronautics and the Illini Space Jet (ISJ) student organizations for capturing first place awards in projects demonstrated during the University of Illinois Engineering Open House March 7 and 8, 2008!

White receives Innovation Discovery Award

Tue, 03/04/2008 - 18:00   AE Prof. Scott R. White has been honored with the Innovation Discovery Award for his work in "self-healing" materials technology.