Conway to Deliver Breakwell Lecture

Tue, 08/17/2010 - 19:00   AE Prof. Bruce A. Conway has been invited to deliver the prestigious John V. Breakwell Memorial Lecture at the Astrodynamics Symposium of the 61st International Astronautical Congress this fall.

Austin Receives NSF CAREER Award to Study Dynamics and Damage of Void Collapse

Sun, 08/01/2010 - 19:00   AE Assistant Prof. Joanna M Austin has earned a 2010 Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award for research to help minimize tissue and cell damage during procedures such as shock-wave lithotripsy, used in breaking up kidney stones.

Bretl Receives CAREER Award: Improve Prosthetic Device Design

Tue, 07/27/2010 - 19:00   AE Assistant Prof. Timothy W. Bretl and his team will begin research on brain-machine interfaces (BMIs).

Three AE Faculty Recognized for Advising Excellence

Tue, 06/15/2010 - 19:00   AE faculty members John Lambros, Philippe Geubelle, and Michael Selig have been honored with the Engineering Council Award for Excellence in Advising.

Elam, Foley Retire from AE Machine Shop

Sun, 06/13/2010 - 19:00   AE students, faculty and staff said, "Thanks and good luck!" this spring to Kent Elam and David Foley.

AE Honors Outstanding Students

Thu, 06/10/2010 - 19:00   AE has recognized several of the Department's undergraduate and graduate students with awards for their scholastic achievement and other contributions.

Bodony Recognized as AE Teacher of the Year

Tue, 06/08/2010 - 19:00   The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics Illinois Chapter has chosen AE Assistant Prof. Daniel J. Bodony as the AE Teacher of the Year.

Austin Shares in Best Paper Award

Thu, 05/27/2010 - 19:00   The Fluid Dynamics Technical Committee of the AIAA has selected AE Assistant Prof. Joanna M. Austin and her co-authors for the 2009 Best Paper Award.

Jaggers, Hartman and Therriault Recognized as Outstanding Alumni

Mon, 05/24/2010 - 19:00   Three AE alumni were recognized at the Department's Awards Banquet.

Merrett Chosen for MF3 Award

Tue, 05/11/2010 - 19:00   The College of Engineering has presented AE doctoral student Craig G. Merrett with a Mavis Future Faculty Fellows (MF3) Award.

Chasiotis, Freund win 2010 Xerox Awards for Faculty Research

Tue, 04/06/2010 - 19:00   The College of Engineering at Illinois has selected Aerospace Engineering Associate Profs. Ioannis Chasiotis and Jonathan B. Freund for the 2010 Xerox Awards for Faculty Research.

AE Establishes Sentman Scholarship

Thu, 03/25/2010 - 19:00   Aerospace Engineering at Illinois will honor the late Emeritus Prof. Lee H. Sentman III by establishing a scholarship fund.

Researchers take EEG research to new heights

Wed, 03/24/2010 - 19:00   AE Assistant Prof. Tim Bretl and his neuroengineering students are using their minds to control planes.

Gonzalez Honored as Knight of St. Pat

Tue, 03/23/2010 - 19:00   AE Senior Joseph Gonzalez was among 10 College of Engineering students knighted during the Knights of St. Pat Ball on Saturday, March 13.

AE Alumna Featured in Discovery Channel Video Clip

Thu, 02/25/2010 - 18:00   AE Alumna Julia Laystrom-Woodard talks about her career as an aerospace engineer.

Take Action for Higher Education!

Sun, 02/14/2010 - 18:00   Stanley O. Ikenberry has a message for University of Illinois friends and alumni.

Conway Chosen for Dirk Brouwer Award

Tue, 02/02/2010 - 18:00   AE Prof. Bruce A. Conway is the 2009 recipient of the Dirk Brouwer Award.

Chasiotis Travels to U.S. Capitol to Receive Presidential Early Career Award

Mon, 02/01/2010 - 18:00   AE Associate Prof. Ioannis Chasiotis was among 100 young researchers honored.

Bretl Students' Robotics Work Featured on Popular Science Site

Sun, 01/31/2010 - 18:00   A robotics project recently has been featured on the Popular Science website.

Calling All Aerospace Engineering Fans!

Sat, 01/30/2010 - 18:00   AE encourages you to show your loyalty by becoming a fan on the Department's new Facebook page.