News story image

Three Alumni Honored

Thu, 06/05/2008 - 19:00   Bruce K. Donaldson, PhD 68, has been named the 2008 AE Distinguished Alumnus; and Joyee (Qi) Zhu, PhD 01, and Justin B. Berman, BS 91, MS 93, PhD 01, are the 2008 AE Outstanding Recent Alumni.

Rolls-Royce announces new partnership with Illinois

Thu, 06/05/2008 - 19:00   Rolls-Royce, a world-leading provider of power systems and services for use on land, at sea and in the air, has announced broad plans to grow its partnership with the University of Illinois. This new relationship, which could evolve into Rolls-Royce establishing a university technology center here, holds many opportunities for students and faculty in units across campus, including Aerospace Engineering.

College Honors Hill with Distinguished Alumni Award

Wed, 05/21/2008 - 19:00   A leader in ground and in-flight icing research, AE Alumnus Eugene G. Hill, BS 57, has received the 2008 Alumni Award for Distinguished Service from the College of Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

AE Photo is "Image of the Week"

Sun, 05/11/2008 - 19:00   The Imaging Technology Group at the Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology has chosen as an "image of the week" a photograph AE Prof. Eric Loth's research group has produced.

AE's Naraghi Takes First for Second Year in Sandia Lab Contest

Wed, 04/23/2008 - 19:00   Ph.D. candidate Mohammad Naraghi, under the direction of Professor Ioannis Chasiotis, has taken a first place at Sandia National Laboratory's University Alliance competition for the second consecutive year!

Bragg is new AIAA vice president; Muellner assumes organization's presidency

Wed, 04/16/2008 - 19:00   Prof. Michael B. Bragg is the new Vice President-Elect, Publications, of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics.

Space Station carries AE experiment

Sun, 03/23/2008 - 19:00   An experiment of AE Prof. Ioannis Chasiotis and graduate student Qi Chen is underway in a set of "briefcases" recently attached to the International Space Station.

AE Teams Win Firsts at EOH!

Mon, 03/17/2008 - 19:00   Congratulations to the American Institute of Aeronautics & Astronautics and the Illini Space Jet (ISJ) student organizations for capturing first place awards in projects demonstrated during the University of Illinois Engineering Open House March 7 and 8, 2008!

White receives Innovation Discovery Award

Tue, 03/04/2008 - 18:00   AE Prof. Scott R. White has been honored with the Innovation Discovery Award for his work in "self-healing" materials technology.

Kulkarni is new AE Teaching Fellow

Wed, 02/20/2008 - 18:00   Aerospace Engineering PhD student Mohan Kulkarni has been selected to receive the new AE Teaching Fellowship for Spring 2008.

AE faculty assume new College, Department administrative roles

Sun, 02/17/2008 - 18:00   Three Aerospace Engineering faculty members will assume new administrative roles within the Department and the College of Engineering, Department Head J. Craig Dutton announced recently.

Austin wins Young Investigator Award

Sun, 01/27/2008 - 18:00   AE Assistant Prof. Joanna M. Austin recently received a Young Investigator Award from the U.S. Air Force Office of Scientific Research. Austin’s proposal was one of 29 chosen from among 215 submitted.

Chasiotis receives Career Award

Sun, 01/27/2008 - 18:00   AE Assistant Prof. Ioannis Chasiotis has been selected for an NSF-CAREER award from the Materials Design and Surface Engineering Program at the National Science Foundation. This five-year award will support his group to develop a research program on soft/hard interfaces in polymeric composites with applications to aerospace engineering.

Memorial services set for AE Professor Emeritus Charles E. Bond

Wed, 01/09/2008 - 18:00   He was Project Engineer at the Jet Propulsion Lab at the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena, California, from 1956 to 1957. Dr. Bond was also Lead Scientist for the hyperthermal wind tunnel group at AVCO Research and Advanced Development Division in Wilmington, Massachusetts.

SciAm 50 list recognizes White, Sottos

Fri, 01/04/2008 - 18:00   Aerosopace Engineering Professor Scott R. White and affiliate Professor Nancy R. Sottos were included in the SciAM 50 for 2007, a distinct honor that appears in the January 2008 edition of Scientific American magazine.

U of I Aerospace Department joins Rolls-Royce, Gulfstream in supersonic technology development

Thu, 12/13/2007 - 18:00   Aerospace companies Rolls-Royce Deutschland and Gulfstream Aerospace, a subsidiary of General Dynamics, recently entered into an agreement with the University of Illinois Aerospace Engineering Department to conduct research relevant to the potential development of a supersonic business jet.

AE alumnus to head Spaceport Authority

Thu, 12/13/2007 - 18:00   The New Mexico Spaceport Authority (NMSA) Board has announced the hiring of Steven Landeene (BS 1986, Aerospace Engineering) as the new Executive Director for Spaceport America, the nation's first purpose-built commercial spaceport. Landeene will assume his responsibilities on January 7, 2008, as the Spaceport continues to meet key development benchmarks.

AE Alumnus, Faculty Member, Run for AIAA Offices

Tue, 11/27/2007 - 18:00   AE alumni Earl H. Dowell, BS 59, and Michael B. Bragg, BS 76, MS 77, are candidates for the 2008 American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics Board of Directors.

Comeback Guests

Sun, 10/28/2007 - 19:00   An Illinois flag that had been carried aboard a space shuttle flight and a montage of Mission Control photos, including a 2007 Atlantis patch, were presented as gifts to the Aerospace Engineering Department by Illini Comeback guests Col. Lee "Bru" Archambault and Cathy Larson Koerner.

Geubelle work named best JEMT paper

Sun, 10/28/2007 - 19:00   Research by authors including Prof. Philippe Geubelle has been chosen as the best fatigue and fracture paper published in the Journal of Engineering Materials and Technology between July 2006 and June 2007. The paper, Continuum and Molecular-Level Modeling of Fatigue Crack Retardation in Self-Healing Polymers, was co-written by Spandan Maiti, Chandrashekar Shankar and John Kieffer. It appeared in the journal's October 2006 issue.